Cast Iron Waffle Iron Waffles

Here I demonstrate making waffles with a 1920’s WagnerWare cast iron waffle iron. A really neat piece of steel I found at one of our local flea markets. It’s fun to use and makes fantastic waffles. The Salem area is home to a fair number of antique shops and flea markets and making the rounds is a fine way to spend a rainy day, there’s just no telling what you might find…

For all you waffle connoisseures out there here’s the recipe for the batter:

Note: “t” = teaspoon; “T” = tablespoon; “C” = cup.

  • 2 C. lukewarm milk
  • 1-1/4-ounce package active dry yeast (or 2-1/2 t)
  • 4 eggs
  • 2-1/2 C. all-purpose flour (I prefer using 1-1/4 C all-purpose flour + 1-1/4 C. oat flour)
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1 T. sugar
  • 1/2 t. cinnamon
  • 1/4 t. nutmeg
  • 1 t. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup melted butter

Heat milk to 110 deg. F. Put milk in large mixing bowl and dissolve yeast in milk.

Beat egg yolks and add to yeast/milk mixture

Stir in the other ingredients and melted butter. Add flour.

Hand whisk the egg whites to stiffen them a bit and add to mixture.

Let rise at room temp until doubled in size (about an hour).

No need to stir it down like you see in the video, just poke it a little to partially deflate before baking in the waffle iron. The waffles will come out super light and crisp. Heaven on a fork!

I also learned a lot making the video. Things like don’t use the 60 frames per second setting. It’s not necessary and takes forever to render in editing. The Kodak playsport uses a MOV format that seems to bog down the whole computer hardware + editing software platform happening. Shooting high resolution and high frame rates just makes the editing software crawl. And besides, do we really need high definition for a youtube waffle video? Isn’t it enough to hold the camera steady and frame the shot? I’m working on that.

Can’t say I’m a great actor and director but at least I can say I’m an actor and director. If nothing else I think it demonstrates the ability of background music to make most anything tolerable.

So here we go, I’ll hit the submit button and we’ll see if this works…

This entry was posted in Cast Iron, Cooking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cast Iron Waffle Iron Waffles

  1. bet365 says:

    hi I was luck to search your website in wordpress
    your subject is wonderful
    I learn much in your Topics really thank your very much
    btw the theme of you website is really exceptional
    where can find it

  2. Bob Sherpa says:

    Hi,
    This is wonderful! I’ve been trying for so long to find a good cast iron waffle iron recipe because I hate using that teflon nonstick stuff. Anyway, about how long did you cook it? Did you flip it? Please let me know, I’d love to make these right, because last time I tried with a different recipe and they were so hard I almost broke my teeth on them.

    • Thank you for the comment Bob,

      In the video notice how the whole iron flips and rotates in the base.

      With the iron up to temperature I use a silicone brush to spread a small amount of olive oil on the irons and add the batter. Not too much or it will expand and ooze out of the closed irons!

      Then I will flip the irons every minute or two. As soon as the steam coming out of the irons starts to diminish, open the irons and take a peek. Remove and eat when golden and delicious!

Leave a Reply

