Photo 101, Day 3: Water

The day 3 Photo 101 assignment is water.

I have a lot of respect for water, it’s a deceptively powerful force. My near and dear Willamette River can appear calm and smooth on the surface yet it is always, relentlessly, flowing out to sea. Never forget that. Always beautiful, from the clear low water of summer, to the churning, muddy, tree filled winter highs, and everything in between.

Since I love both photography and being on the water I have a lot of water pictures. I figured today would be simple, just grab an old favorite and display it. But after yesterday’s assignment I’ve decided, for me, that isn’t what this challenge is about.

Getting out yesterday and pushing myself; finding the image, hunting for it, and capturing it, was both fun and satisfying. I’m probably going to regret saying this but here goes, creating each and every day’s entry shall henceforth be my own personal challenge.

As for todays shot I really meant to get out of the office while it was still daylight but I didn’t make it. It was pretty dark by the time I got to the riverfront but fortunately I grabbed the clunky old DSLR and tripod on my way out the door this morning. Smartphone cameras are amazing but in such low light conditions the only way to get a good image is with the full control the DSLR affords.

As I was taking extra long exposures (10 to 20 seconds) in the darkness I met some really neat people embarking on a night-time dragon boat paddling expedition up the slough. I wish I could have gone with them, it was an unusually beautiful November evening. Warm, calm, clear, and a full moon to boot. Perfect. I gave them my card, maybe I can go next time?

As it turned out I got a lot of great shots tonight, both horizontal and vertical. Pictures of the bridge, the docks, lights, and other reflections on the water, and it was hard to choose which one to use for todays assignment but in the end this one said “water” the most to me.

Water by Richard Gessford a

This entry was posted in Oregon, Photography, Richard C Gessford, Richard Gessford and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Photo 101, Day 3: Water

  1. debavega says:

    Very nice composition

  2. Corina says:

    I like this one! It almsot looks like it’s a waterfall on the left side…like the water is going to fall off of the edge. It’s the reflection! Very nice shot.

Leave a Reply

